Fargo ND Carpet Cleaning, Air Duct Cleaning and Other Cleaning Services

A Worldwide Resource For Cleaning & Maintenance

Getting Kool-Aid Out Of Carpet: Get Out Kool-Aid, Red Juice and Colored Spots In Carpet

with 33 comments

This video shows how easy it is to get out Kool-Aid, red juice and other colored stains, without harming your carpet.  Visit Kool-Aid, Juice and Dye Stain Remover for product information.


Below are directions and common questions that follow the video on this process.

Red beverages have dyes in them that bond to the carpet fiber in a very strong way, making most methods of spot removal very difficult.   You can use so-called miracle spot removers all you want, but unless you get to the spot immediately after it happens, chances are the dye in the beverage will bond to the carpet.  If you have a hand held spot remover, you have a very good chance of removing the spot right away, using just hot water, but if the spot dries and the red is left in the carpet, the spot is now a STAIN and will require special cleaning to remove it. 

Here is exactly what you need to do to get out unsightly Kool-Aid or red beverage stains from your carpet.

Step 1: You will want to use the right chemical to get the stain out.  We use a product called Kool-Aid, Juice and Dye Stain Remover that is specifically designed to get out Kool-Aid, juice and red beverage stains. It does a fast and easier job than other methods.  We use it everyday.

Step 2: Get yourself several white, clean, terry cloth towels depending on how big of a stain you have. The bigger the stain, the more towels you will need. These MUST be white.

Step 3: Apply a liberal amount of the Kool-Aid, Juice & Dye Stain RemoverJuice_Remover over the stained area.

Step 4: Place a wet, folded and clean terry cloth towel over the stain. When I say “wet” I am referring to a towel that has been put under warm water and rung out very slightly, leaving a liberal amount of water in the towel.

Step 5: Next, you will need a steam iron filled with water and placed on low to medium low setting. Place the iron over the folded towel. Don’t worry, you will not burn the carpet.  Press firmly on the wet towel  and let the steam pull the red dye stain into the towel. Keep the iron on the spot at least 2 minutes and check you progress frequently.

Step 6: As the iron steams out the red dye, it will turn your towel red or whatever color the stain was.  Either rinse out the towel and replace it on the stain or put a new terry cloth towel over the stain and repeat this procedure until the stain is gone.

Step 7: Spray the area with hot water that you just cleaned and use another DRY terry cloth towel to blot up the excess water.  This will rinse the area and neutralize the cleaning process.

That’s it!! You did it.  If you need to, save this post for future reference.

Common Questions

Q: I read you can use dish washing liquid. Is that true?

A. Yes and no. You can use dish washing liquid but the end result is often disappointing since the soap residue collects and creates a gray spot over time. If you can invest a few dollars,  why not go the safe route and get the chemical that is formulated to do the job.

Q: I’m affraid I will burn the carpet. How can I prevent this?

A. Easy. Follow our instructions and you will have no problems. You see, carpet is very durable and it takes a tremendous amount of intense heat before the fiber will burn or melt. A low or medium low setting along with a double folded terry cloth with prevent this. We have done this method hundreds of times without problem.

Q. Are there other products I can use?

A. I think there are more. I recommend the Kool-Aid, Juice & Dye Stain RemoverJuice_Remover because it has proven reliable and easy to use over the years.

Please leave your comment as to how this method has worked for you.  As you can see, there are many comments that have been left that testify to the cleaning power of this method.  If you have any questions during your spot removal, feel free to give us a call at 701-306-7026.

33 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. i just wanted to let you know that that the treatment that you decribed above really works i was about to ban my grandchildren from my house. i have really light carpet and the spilled red kool-aide on it while i went to run to the store. they threw a rug over it . i found it the next morning. and i tried the treatment an it worked. i thank you and my grandchildren thank you GOOD LOOKIN OUT!!!!!!

    deidrea power

    March 3, 2008 at 5:36 pm

  2. Dear John,
    Hi. This method really truly absolutely works! I just tried it and it was amazing. A friend had spilled some Big Red soft drink on my light colored carpet. The spot was not a small one either. This happened at least 2 years ago (not kidding). I never tried to get it up because, someone told me, that there is no way to get a red colored drink out of carpet. I thought, ok I guess I’m just going to have to live with it. Then, I started my annual spring cleaning. I saw that spot and thought ,INTERNET, duh. Read this article, tried it and the entire spot is GONE! I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this to anyone who, has a red drink stain.
    I can not tell you enough times, THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU!!!

    Erika

    March 23, 2008 at 7:31 pm

  3. Just wanted to let you know, we moved furniture out of my grand daughters bedroom and found a big red koolaid stain, I tried everything to get it out and no luck, then I went to google and ask how to get koolaid out of carpet and got this. This stain has been there for a long time, I did as this said and it worked wonderful. Thank you so much for your help.

    Rose Clark

    April 5, 2008 at 12:42 am

  4. Thanks for your comments, I am glad this method is working for you.

    John

    April 5, 2008 at 2:17 pm

  5. This really works!!! Its great. Thanks!!!!

    Jameelah

    August 21, 2008 at 5:04 pm

  6. This really!!!!!!works. I spilled a full glass of a red soda on my white carpet. I tried this and the complete spot is gone, no pink or any thing. Thanks so much for the tip. I’m sharing it with everyone I know!!!

    Sally

    October 30, 2008 at 3:05 pm

  7. I really doubted that anything would work in my truck as I found a red juice stain on the back carpet from my 4 year old. The stain must have been there for several weeks.

    Nothing else even touched the stain including those mega stain removers and carpet cleaners.

    I followed your directions exactly and continued the process several times and 97% of the stain is gone. Yahooooooooo…. can’t belive it…..

    I am one of those technical engineering types who has to see it to believe it…… THANKS FOR POSTING A SOLUTION THAT WORKS…..

    Kraig

    January 11, 2009 at 3:55 am

  8. [...] If neither of these methods worked, it might be a dye issue, meaning the stain has bonded very tightly to the carpet.  In that case, you might need some heat and steam to break the bond.  For this procedure, check out my post on Getting Kool-aid out of carpet [...]

  9. I just tried this out and it worked great. thanks for the help

    Steve

    April 4, 2009 at 8:42 pm

  10. I’m very impressed, this worked amazing on a rental property with stains that have been there for at least 2 years EEEKKK!!! Worked amazing looks like new

    Jody Boyum

    May 1, 2009 at 5:44 am

  11. My cat had vomited in a few places and I could NOT get the stain out…nor could the carpet cleaning guy. This was months ago. Yesterday I read your article and figured “why not?” Much to my amazement, three of the stains are completely gone and the fourth is so light that I doubt anyone else would even know that it’s there. Thanks SOOOOOOOOOOOO much for publicizing this! P.S. Use caution when lifting the towel cuz it’s HOT!!!!!!!!!!

    Mert

    May 5, 2009 at 4:26 pm

  12. This really does work !!
    It is amazing !!
    It got Big Red out completely !!
    Thank you soooo much for this tip !!

    Susan

    May 19, 2009 at 6:40 pm

  13. Thank you so much for posting this. My daughter had some red substance from a science project; my friend warned me that I absolutely positively wouldn’t want it in my carpet. As you can guess, last night, I found the jar uncapped and the substance dripping into my beige carpet. I scraped and scraped and steam cleaned it with no luck. I googled your method and it worked beautifully! Thanks for saving my carpet.

    Carolyn

    June 11, 2009 at 10:48 pm

  14. I had alot of red juice stains on my carpet light carpet i thoght i would have to replace it.
    This is amazing with a little time the spots are gone, with dawn dish soap and the iron on high i pressed down hard and the stains disappeared like magic, love thanks so much for posting this, i have spent a ton of money on stain removers to find out dawn dish soap is the magic cleaner.

    ellen

    June 23, 2009 at 12:33 am

  15. Thank you so much this method worked so well! I have been trying for three months to get a washable marker out of my carpet and nothing has worked and although it took about three hours the marker has disappeared!

    CHRISTA

    August 31, 2009 at 9:29 pm

  16. OMG..i had tried everything..my cats knocked over a glass of koolaid…and i may have caught about an hour later..so i got my steam cleaner out and tried cleaning the area..when i was doen it looked like i got the majority of it..the next morning the stain and gotten bigger..all i did was spread it..the carpet is new casue i had to use the warrenty on the carpet to get it replaces once alredy..and i knew i couldnt do it again..so i used a red wine remover..noluck, then i used a juice and wine and grease and etc cleaner..no luck..i was almost in tears then i looked on line and fouind this..i used my juice andetc cleaner along with the iron and the stain is gone..you are a life saver..if it was in a more none noticible spot i might not have worried so much…but it was right in front of my bathroom door..thank you thank you

    jennifer

    December 16, 2009 at 4:40 am

  17. It worked great! thanks for the excellent product.

    Joe

    December 18, 2009 at 11:44 pm

  18. This product is fantastic. My son’s basketball team won their division championship and I decided to host a pizza party for them at my house. Fearing that I wasn’t informed enough about what kids do nowadays and the basketball player culture, I referred to the internet and found a list of foods I could buy. One of those foods was grape soda and the other was watermelons. I know, both have the ability to stain a carpet into oblivion.

    Well what do you know, the team gets rowdy and spills grape soda all over my carpet. I was angry at first but I reminded myself that these kids were probably from broken homes in bad neighborhoods and I bit my tongue and cleaned up as best I could. The next day I consulted the internet and found this product. A few days later it was in my hands, yes the shipping was that fast.

    A few sprays and 5 minutes of ironing and the entire stain was gone. This product is a god send.

    To the makers of this product:

    You must advertise this on the site I use. It’s primarily a housewife forum where we share ideas about cleaning and minor home improvements, but it’s really just a bunch of gals chatting it up about all the awful stains and things that bother us.

    The signup is $10. It’s a one time fee for a lifetime membership and it allows you to advertise as much as you would like. Sign up and advertise this product because it’s amazing! Just

    http://www.somethingawful.com

    Stella Lay

    December 20, 2009 at 1:32 am

  19. This guy knows his stuff, great info 4 stars.

    meghan

    February 6, 2010 at 5:39 pm

  20. worked great I have tried everything! and this product and method got it out like OMG

    annie

    March 8, 2010 at 2:08 am

  21. Would this treatment work with other kind of spills? Specifically the sparks alcoholic drink that’s bright orange.

    kiki

    May 23, 2010 at 6:44 pm

  22. Interesting information on getting the kool aid out of the carpet. You obviously know your stuff.

  23. where can i find the product kool aid remover?

    Maria

    June 28, 2011 at 2:43 am

  24. Thank you, thank you, thank you for posting this. I have young children and have gotten stains all over the carpet (grape juice, koolaid, juicy juice, etc…) and could not get it up with my Spotmaster, Bissell or a store rental carpet cleaner. I thought we were going to have to rip up and replace the carpet. I decided to google about old set in stains and found your site. I used a mixture of Oxy Clean (I swear by that stuff) and water and set my iron on medium to high. I was so surprised when I lifted the towel up to see the stains coming out completely. :)

    Adrienne

    August 28, 2011 at 1:34 am

    • What is the name of this wonderful product and where can I find it.

      Mrs. Montgomery

      October 22, 2011 at 4:15 pm

  25. does this get out dog poo stains?

    cry3061

    October 21, 2011 at 1:34 pm

  26. A valuable site for the small town carpet cleaner who’s looking to expand their knowledge. I agree with your advice and look forward to reading your articles on best practices for the carpet cleaning industry. Keep up the great work.www.courteouscarpetcare.com

  27. Would the work on kool-aid stains that has been left ok a beige carpet for approximately 6 months. I tried and tried to clean it out nothing worked.

    Natasha wilson

    November 30, 2011 at 7:48 am

  28. OMgosh…I had a red juice stain on my carpet and afraid to tell the landlord because I didn’t want to loose my deposit over this tragedy…but I tried it myself and it worked. I did not use the product that you have but I use resolved stain remover and it really worked…..You saved my life with this. i am going to use this remedy all the time Plus I will pass this on….Thank you

    sonja

    December 12, 2011 at 2:13 am

  29. will this work on other colors besides red? We just moved our tree and found that our tree skirt somehow got wet and clearly (although very expensive) was cheaply made as the gold tint ran onto our carpet!

    kristen

    December 26, 2011 at 3:38 pm

  30. This method really works. I had my first party in my new home on Christmas eve. Someone set on open Big Red soda on my cream shag rug and of course it got knocked over. I tried everything I heard of to get the stain out but nothing worked. I was resigned to just living with the stain until I found your method. I didn’t have your product but used oxyclean but that didn’t work until I used your method and the spot is almost totally removed. Only I know it’s there. I am going to order your product because we drink plenty of red wine and I know it’s only a matter of time before there is another spill. Thanks, John.

    Queen K

    January 8, 2012 at 8:25 pm

  31. i hope it work

    Donna Dunner

    January 10, 2012 at 5:35 pm

  32. where do I get this product?

    Eunice cohrs

    July 29, 2012 at 3:34 am


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 105 other followers

